Yes, I know.  We have heard it all before.  And this is not going to be much different.  However, I am not going to talk about big red, beyond saying she’s not a natural redhead (yeah, I know.  Big surprise there), and that her type of silencing the opposition is not what I am talking about in this.

I am actually talking about places like Salon.com, Jezebel.com, and a lot of other feminist friendly places on the net.  Most MHRA’s will know exactly what I am talking about.  The ones that will allow just about anyone to create a post, but hold back comments in moderation.  To make sure it follows community guidelines.

Now, holding comments in moderation to make sure they follow community guidelines isn’t that bad.  It’s actually a decent idea, when that is how they are set up.  However, most of these types of sites set it up to stop people with dissenting opinions from saying anything.

This, by the way, is a violation of freedom of speech.

Now, a lot of people will say that freedom of speech is only guaranteed to a certain extent.  That isn’t true.  Freedom of speech is guaranteed, period.  That doesn’t mean you are going to like what you hear.  Just that the person has the right to say what they have to say.  At the same time, you also have the right to say what ever you want to, as well.  This, unfortunately, includes hate speech.

I am sure someone is going to say something along the lines of how I am advocating hate speech.  I do not advocate hate speech.  In fact, I really despise speech that denigrates or demeans anyone.  Having said that, however, having the ability to silence others, due to something that people label as hateful, is what opened the gates for feminism to control the discourse of gender, until recently.

Labeling something as hate speech does nothing to help people make up their own minds about what is right and wrong.  I have met people, in my years, who have opened themselves up to new ideas.  These people tend to become all the more intelligent, for listening to such things as hate speech.

Just by listening, most reasonable people can figure out what is a good argument against such speech.  I know a couple MHRAs who say they learned to argue against feminism, by listening to what feminists had to say.

But getting back to my point, by seeing the differing points of view offered, people can learn what is right for them.  And often, when people are free to learn, they choose what is basically right.

Somehow, I doubt feminists want people choosing what is right.  Mainly because what is right, doesn’t need to hide from dissenting opinions.

